Is Your Healthcare Organization Rule Ready?

Share Your Thoughts: Facebooktwitterlinkedin

Firestorm CMS Rule Preparedness Program information

CMS Rule Preparedness – Are you Rule Ready?

RELATED:  *Register for an informative, no-fee Firestorm CMS Rule Preparedness Program Session TODAY!

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) have reviewed existing Medicare emergency regulatory preparedness requirements for both providers and suppliers. CMS found that while many providers and suppliers have emergency preparedness requirements, those requirements do not go far enough in ensuring that these providers and suppliers are equipped and prepared to help protect those they serve during emergencies and disasters.

There is consensus that these existing emergency preparedness requirements are generally insufficient in the face of the needs of the patients, staff and communities, and do not address inconsistency in the level of emergency preparedness among all types of healthcare providers. Some providers have no emergency preparedness requirements at all, and current emergency preparedness requirements are not sufficient to handle the complexities of actual emergencies.

This rule establishes a consistent framework that mandates incorporation of best practices and lessons learned in emergency preparedness.  The rule details the 17 types of “facilities” that are covered under the regulation. This final rule will be enforceable as of November 15, 2017.  Failure to comply will cause loss of all Medicare and Medicaid reimbursement. No extensions are anticipated.

RELATED: *Register for an informative, no-fee Firestorm CMS Rule Preparedness Program Session TODAY!

Four Core Elements of an Effective Emergency Preparedness Framework

Three Key Essentials for Providing Healthcare in Emergencies:

  1. Risk Assessment and Emergency Planning
  2. Policies and Procedures
  3. A Communication Plan
  4. Training and Testing
  1. Safeguarding human resources
  2. Ensuring business continuity
  3. Protecting physical resources

The Seventeen Medical Facility Types Affected by the CMS Final Rule:

  1. Hospitals
  2. Hospice
  3. Transplant Centers
  4. Religious Non-medical Healthcare Institutions: RNHCIs
  5. Ambulatory Surgical Centers: ASC
  6. Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities: PRTF
  7. Program for the All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly: PACE
  8. Long Term Care: LTC
  9. Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities: ICFs/IID
  10. Home Health Agencies: HHA
  11. Comprehensive Outpatient Rehabilitation Facilities: CORF
  12. Critical Access Hospital: CAH
  13. Community Mental Health Center: CMHC
  14. Organ Procurement Organization: OPO
  15. Rural Health Clinic: RHC
  16. Federally Qualified Health Center: FQHC
  17. End Stage Renal Disease: ESRD

Firestorm® CMS Rule Preparedness Program

Firestorm® is in the process of launching an educational program, based up Firestorm Intellectual Property, to empower impacted medical facilities to meet these requirements. This train-the-trainer program will combine an interactive virtual webshop along with template planning tools, ongoing virtual training, virtual exercises, and Crisis STOP™ (24/7 support in a crisis). Firestorm will offer these services under an annual license fee.

RELATED: *Register for an informative, no-fee Firestorm CMS Rule Preparedness Program Session TODAY!


Share Your Thoughts: Facebooktwitterlinkedin